Apr 26, 2018

AK to WA. Hey,hey!

7 comments

Edited: Apr 26, 2018

 

Hi! I'm Jim Weller. I lived in Alaska for 25 years. My family of four moved to Seattle at the end of 2016. I have a 5 year old boy and a 2 year old girl that I love to take on adventures. I work in IT at REI in Kent. We live in Normandy Park (Burien-ish). I'm an outdoor enthusiast who loves to camp, hike, bike, boat and fish. I grew up off the grid on a homestead in the mountains of New Mexico. I love making stuff, fixing/breaking stuff, building, and learning new things.

 

I'm new to the area and overlanding. I've done a lot of subaru/truck treks that might qualify as overlanding, but now I'm getting serious. I'm working on building out my 2005 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab (e.g Alaska station wagon) to be a self contained overland camping rig. No wall climbing or anything exotic. Just getting the family out and about to where the throngs dare not drive. I am looking to find friends and mentors in the PNW.

 

My current build projects are getting my recovery kit/mounts together, building a truck bed sleeper with drawers, and adding a second battery for truck bed house power.

 

 

 

 

 

Apr 26, 2018

Welcome to the site and area in general. What part of AK were you from? Looks like you have maybe another year of relatively easy commutes (~Burien to Kent) until REI moves to Bellevue, that won't be much fun

Apr 26, 2018Edited: Apr 26, 2018

Hi John,

 

Thank you. I was mostly in Anchorage. Yeah, Bellevue commute ::sigh::. At least I can work from home 25 hours a week.

May 2, 2018

i know a few people that work on the Kent campus. Approximately 0% are happy about that move...

Welcome Jim! Glad you’re here. Hey, REI though, that seems like a great gig for a lover of the great outdoors!

Welcome. I see you are in IT with REI. My son dated a young lady who works there also. She is in web page design, into fly fishing big time. Nice young lady. Hope to meet up on the trail soon.

New Posts
  • Afternoon, We recently moved back to Bainbridge Island after a few years living abroad in Luxembourg and Japan. I've had years of backcountry and backpacking experience, but when we moved back to the US I decided to and get into overland camping to make getting remote more accessible for my family. This weekend I got to take the new rig out for our first overnight stay to test it out. Not exactly overland, but good first test to put our three year old in the tent! Looking forward to getting to know this group and hope to meet some of you all in person soon. Cheers, Brad
  • I’m the lucky owner of a 2nd gen Tacoma, however I‘m waiting until the factory tires need to be replaced, to get 5 matching wheels and tires, and a 3” lift to help with the long wheel base of a double cab long bed. In the meantime I camp off fire roads that don’t absolutely require 4wd , because the factory spare. I’m looking to take off road safety courses , and acquire the necessary equipment piece by piece.
  • Hey guys/gals just moves over to king county from the Spokane/Cda area. Looking to meet some rad new friends and have a great time enjoying the outdoor. Always down to go for a drive! you'll see myself and my copilot/girlfriend rolling in My 2013 Single Cab Tacoma named Sheila!
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Copyright © 2018 Northwest Overland